It doesn’t matter if you’re a new or an experienced driver in Florida, there will be a time that you need to know what’s on your driving record. You may already know that your driving record plays an outsized role in determining your auto insurance costs, but you might not know that your driving record can keep you from getting and keeping certain jobs. In this post, we’ll take a look at the basics of finding and obtaining your Florida driving record, as well as why it’s important to see what’s on it.
There are several reasons why you might want to check your driving record in Florida. In some cases, your record will be used to determine the price you pay for certain services, and in others, you may be required to have a clean driving record to work in certain environments.
Your driving record plays a large role in determining the price you’ll end up paying for auto insurance. If you want to get the best price on car insurance, shop around, but it pays to know where you stand with your driving record.
Many jobs require a clean driving record. This includes professions that involve heavy machinery and driving large trucks, law enforcement, personal transport jobs like taxi drivers, and more.
You may also want to check your driving record for errors. Just like credit reports, there are sometimes omissions or incorrect information on driving records. You want to clear these up because these records are very important to your finances and ability to get jobs.
Obtaining the status of a driver license in Florida is free, and can be done online or in person at a driver license service center. If a three-year or seven-year complete driving record is required, it may be ordered from a driver license service center, or through a court clerk or private vendor.
Drivers may also purchase a copy of their record by mail, and must complete a driver license record request form. Ordering a copy of a driving record by mail involves a fee. Florida notes that the personal information contained within driving records is protected by its Driver Privacy Protection Act. In order to obtain a copy of another person’s driving record, you must have that person’s name, date of birth, social security number, and Florida license number.
Florida drivers can order three types of complete driving records:
Both the three- and seven-year driving records are available to drivers upon request and contain:
The Complete driving record displays additional information, which includes department-approved correspondence and records relating to an incomplete attempt at a driving course or ineligibility to take a driving course.
Ordering a driver history record in Florida requires the payment of a record fee to the state. The three-year record costs $8 and the seven-year/complete records each cost $10. An individual crash report costs $10.
If, upon checking your driving record, you discover errors, you must contact the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Customer Service Center at (850) 617-2000. The center will investigate the record and correct issues, if they exist, as quickly as possible.
Florida accepts online driving schools, either as part of a court-ordered improvement program or as part of an effort to improve a driving record.
The state maintains a list of approved providers, many of which offer both online and in-person instruction. The list includes:
Read more on the 5 Best Online Traffic Schools in Florida here.
Read more on Driver's Education Courses here.
Yes. Under state law, motor vehicle, driver license, and accident records are public information. There are rules and limitations on who can have access to those records, however, and on what they can be used for.
Florida issues penalties for various traffic violations. One penalty is a points system, through which drivers receive varying numbers of points on their record for different violations. Examples include:
If a driver accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period, they can be subjected to a 30-day license suspension. Reaching 18 points in 18 months can trigger a three-month suspension, and 24 points within 36 months can lead to a one-year suspension.
Florida considers driving without a license a misdemeanor offense, which is punishable by up to six months in jail. A fine may also be imposed.
Depending on the violation, the entry could remain on your driving record for 3-5 years (most violations) all the way up to 75 years (alcohol violations).
Taking classes online is often faster and cheaper than the classroom.