Colorado has multiple requirements that must be satisfied before a new driver can obtain a permit or license. The state allows online and in-person driver education to satisfy those requirements. New drivers are also required to complete 30 hours of training and log 50 hours of driving time, so the requirements are quite intense.
In addition to the major online driving schools that are accepted in other states, many companies in Colorado offer online versions of their courses. The state keeps a comprehensive list of local companies here.
Online courses offered by most of these companies consist of videos, cartoons, and graphics that help to explain concepts such as how to react around a school bus and how to parallel park. Although the rules and instruction goals are the same, each company has created its own online course. Some are much better than others. But how can you tell which is best?
Car Talk searched the available reviews and found that some rise to the top of the heap. Here are the best driver’s education programs, according to ratings:
Colorado’s learner permit can be obtained starting at age 15, and has several requirements that must be met. The new driver must have completed 30 hours of driver education before the permit can be applied for, and afterward the driver must complete an additional 50 hours of driving time. If the new driver is under 16 years and six months old when they reach the point of applying for a full driver license, they must complete six hours of behind-the-wheel training.
These requirements relax slightly if the person applying for the permit is slightly older when the process starts. Someone who is at least 15 and six months of age only has to complete a four-hour classroom program OR the 30 hours before applying. At age 16, the rules relax further and there are no prerequisites to applying for a permit.
Colorado, like other states, has a graduated license program, which has quite a few initial restrictions. During the first year of licensed driving, the driver may not travel between midnight and 5am, but the state says that may be even stricter in certain locations. For the first six months of licensed driving, only passengers 21 and over may travel with the new driver. For the second six months, one passenger may ride. Exceptions apply for siblings, family members, and for passengers with medical emergencies.
Similar to other states, Colorado bans all use of mobile devices while driving, has a strict “click it or ticket” law, and has zero tolerance for drunk and impaired driving.
Read more on Car Talk's top picks for the Best Online Drivers Education Courses here.
Yes. The state says that its process requires the driver to hold a permit for at least a year before applying for a license. This means that some portion of the education will need to take place prior to the applicant’s fifteenth birthday in order to be able to get a license on their sixteenth birthday. How do I start drivers ed in Colorado? You can get started by signing up at one of the links we listed above, or by visiting this link to view a list of approved state training sites.
It depends on the situation. Online drivers ed courses tend to be less expensive than in-person training, but they require a degree of dedication and technology skill to complete.
Prices range wildly, from very affordable to very expensive. In general, a solid training course can be taken for well under $50 online.
Yes, the state requires that some training has been completed prior to applying for a learner permit, unless the new driver is over the age of 16.
Taking classes online is often faster and cheaper than the classroom.