Avi's Auto Care Incorporated

  • 4.9 of 5 stars
9 reviews

32430 Northwestern Hwy, Farmington Hills, MI 48334, us

(248) 851-1000

Email: 

Website URL: 

Is this YOUR shop? Claim it and stay up to date!

Javascript is required to view this map.

Add a review

Log in or Sign up to add a review

Hours
 
Specialties
Specializes in Transmission work
Specializes in Air Conditioning work
Specializes in Brakes and Mufflers
Loaners
No
Notes
 
They are always honest
5.0/5
They are competent
5.0/5
Their repair price is reasonable
4.8/5
They complete the work in a timely manner
4.9/5
They respond well when they screw something up
5.0/5
They take the time to explain the problems and necessary repairs
4.9/5
They treat male and female customers in the same manner
5.0/5
They are always honest
5.0/5
I would use this mechanic again
N/A
I would recommend this mechanic to others
N/A
They fix the problem the first time
4.9/5
The shop is located in a safe neighborhood
5.0/5
The hours of operation are convenient for customers
4.6/5
They are near public transportation (or provide loaners, shuttle bus, rides as needed)
3.0/5
May 19, 1998
Since the owner is Israeli and has served ina Comando unit, it is best not to argue with him. Israelis are always right, and since the guy was a combat officer, its best to always smile and agree with him. Otherwise, he is really a great mechanic who can fix anything on wheels, even AMC Metadors.
Aug 15, 2000
I went to Avi's because I found it on the Car Talk site as an Alfa repair shop fairly near my house (which is in Ann Arbor). I have had bad experiences with Ron's Garage, the only Alfa repair shop I could find in Ann Arbor, and decided to try a new mechanic. Someone on this site said "He tells you what you need--and what you DON'T need!" and I found that to be true also. He has only worked on my car once, but it was a big job on the suspension, and he did a marvelous job--it's like a different car. His rates are reasonable, he won't do work if it's not necessary, he is an excellent mechanic, and he is a nice guy (if a bit gruff at times). He took a real interest in my car and made several suggestions that saved me money and improved the car. Highly recommended.
Jun 26, 2002
Avi did the 50,000 mile service for my 1998 Volvo, and I was very pleased by the outcome. He completed the work quickly, was a straight talker, and charged me a good price for the job. Considering what Volvo dealerships charge for labor, Avi was a steal. I will be a repeat customer.
Nov 26, 2003
  • N/A
Attention all Jaguar Owners in Southeast Michigan: I drive a 1996 XJ6 VDP with 127,000 miles on it. I love my car and have maintained it well. But as we all know, when cars get older, more things go wrong and wear out. Before you are about to spend a lot of money taking your car back to the dealership, get Avis opinion. He can save you a LOT of money. Hes fair and will tell you what you really need to get fixed and what can wait. I have had some really bad experiences with the local jag dealers (both of them!) One of them quoted me a price of $60 to change a bulb! Heck, he will save you at least $30 on an oil change! That alone is worth the trip.
May 14, 2004
Avi repaired my old 1991 Nissan Maxima at a reasonable price. It's refreshing to find someone who fixes what's wrong and doesn't try to sell unnecessary repairs like my local dealership.
May 28, 2010
Need to leave a more recent comment about Avi. He is everything people say. His hole-in-the-wall shop is nestled about the big investment firms and law offices on Northwestern Highway. I just moved back to the area and most regret having to leave my Kalamazoo mechanic (also highly rated). And Avi is a big Futbol (European football) fan! Cool, right before the 2010 World Cup. May take my car in for a new clutch next month just so we can discuss the games.
Jul 21, 2010
I was in Michigan for the summer and didn't have a regular shop to take my car. I had struts installed at my home and noticed one of the studs broken off after I arrived up north. I went to Avi's because of the Cartalk review and found that to be great advice. I went there Monday morning and was there approximately two hours total, including waiting on a part. I left with confidence that my little Ingrid was back in good health. It's not a fancy shop where they'll serve you a latte (there's a nice deli next door), but they do great work for a good price and treat you nicely. What else do you want?
Dec 16, 2010
It's a blast from the past. Where the guy at the front desk,(Avi) is actually the one who works on your car. No high pressure,slick sales people where you have to "request" to talk to the mechanic who worked on your car. If you're looking for a plush waiting room with cappuccino and muffins you'll be disappointed. If you're looking to get your car fixed by a excellent, honest mechanic you'll be thrilled.
Jul 25, 2011
He is a character... His garage needs to be photographed.

Get the Car Talk Newsletter



Add a shop

Know a great mechanic? Tell the world!

Get started

Geocoding courtesy of USC Spatial Sciences Institute